Pleasure Garden

a listening garden
by Genevieve Lacey



By: Patrick Boyle
8th January 2016

A Garden of Earthly Delights

“In Sydney Festival’s ethereal Pleasure Garden, each listener becomes an instrument. The verdant gardens of Vaucluse House have been transformed into a luscious soundscape, where different musical layers are triggered by human movement. It’s a mystical and intensely personal experience.”

Sydney Morning Herald

By: Peter McCallum
11th January 2016

Sydney Festival 2016 review: Genevieve Lacey reveals sounds of Pleasure Garden

“There was a natural compatibility between the grain of the sound – whether low and echoing or suddenly piercing and shrill – and the wood and flowers of the garden.”

Our thanks to collaborators around the world who have brought Pleasure Garden to life

Jane Davidson and the Australian Research Council’s Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions, Australia Council for the Arts, Fiona Winning, Lieven Bertels and Sydney Festival, Ed Champion and staff at Vaucluse House, Sydney Living Museums, Criss Canning and David Glenn of Lambley Garden, Malgosia Fiebig, City Carillonneur of Utrecht, Toby Chadd and ABC Classics, Sheena Boughen and the Four Winds community, Music Norway, Lou Oppenheim and Circus Oz, Henk Heuvelmans and Martijn Buser of Gaudeamus, Graham Pushee and Arts Management, Martel Ollerenshaw, Atticus Bastow, Nick Roux, Ann Lacey, Francine Tanner, Jude Gun, Steven Richardson, Nicole Newman, Fiona Blair, Damon Young, Pat Hockey, Greg Lyons, Adam Gibson, Joseph Browning, Madeleine Flynn, Tim Humphrey and APAM, Kara Ward, Emer Harrington, Catherine Ashton, Mark Lowrey, Lillian Desormeaux, Adele Conlin and Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, William Strode, Daniel Brine, Mark Denbigh and the team at Norfolk and Norwich Festival, Paul Forecast, Alastair Bradshaw, Tina Hammond, and all at Felbrigg Hall, Suzie Curtis, Kate Robinson, Huw Humphries, Paul Keene, Sarah Hickling, Miko Malkowski and all at The Charterhouse and The Barbican, Tim Bifield, Anna Casey, Rachel Smith, Rebecca Driver, Sheila Pott and all at Salters' Yard, Michael Schneider, Patrick Schellenberg and all at Boswil, Jane Marriott, Nicola Stephenson, Trevor Nicholson, and the team at Harewood.